Union Power to Host Kenan Fellow

In 2019, Union Power Cooperative is partnering with the Kenan Fellows Program for Teacher Leadership to host a K-12 teacher. The selected teacher will participate in a year-long fellowship, including a paid summer internship at Union Power.

Kenan Fellow Kari Cobb (left) and Jones-Onslow EMC Apprentice Lineman Troy Raynor work together during a 2018 fellowship.

“We’re excited to be able to offer a teacher the opportunity to experience and learn about our co-op and our industry, knowing they will be able to take that knowledge and share it with students for years to come,” said Luanne Sherron, Union Power vice president of Key Accounts and Government Relations.

Applications are being accepted through January 21, 2019. Learn more and apply at union-power.com/kenan-fellows.

North Carolina’s electric cooperatives have participated in the Kenan Fellows program since 2014. Previous fellows have been hosted by Surry-Yadkin EMC, Edgecombe-Martin County EMC, Pee Dee Electric, Four County EMC, Central Electric and Jones-Onslow EMC.