Pole Top Rescue Championship to Test Lifesaving Skills of Electric Line Workers

Raleigh, N.C. —North Carolina’s top electric cooperative line workers will assemble in Raleigh on the morning of Wednesday, October 13 to determine the 2010 Pole Top Rescue Champion. The competition tests lifesaving skills in which all electric cooperative line workers must achieve proficiency.

The event will be hosted on the lawn of the Raleigh headquarters building for North Carolina’s electric cooperatives. This building is located at the intersection of Capital and Sumner Boulevards. The competition begins at 9 a.m. with 25 local cooperative champions competing to secure one of the top spots.

At the Pole Top Rescue competition, a line worker must perform in a scenario which finds a fellow worker unconscious atop a utility pole. The competitor, dressed in full climbing gear, must radio for help, scale 20-feet up a utility pole, rig a rope, lower a 105-pound mannequin and begin CPR. Previous winners have completed the competition in less than two minutes. There will be two competition categories this year, each receiving prizes for first, second and third place.

The scenario used at the pole top rescue competition is the same scenario all of North Carolina electric cooperative line workers must perform in less than five minutes in order to maintain their certification to work on co-op lines.

North Carolina’s electric cooperatives provide energy to 2.5 million people in 93 of 100 counties, primarily in the rural parts of state. The electric cooperatives own and maintain 95,000 miles of power lines, by far the most of any electric utility in North Carolina.

The list below will provide you with the names of participants, the electric cooperative the participant works for and the counties served by that co-op. The list reflects the order of competition, which begins at 9 a.m.


Electric Cooperative

Counties Served

Freddy White Four County EMC Duplin, Sampson, Bladen, Pender, Columbus, Onslow
Steve Lewis Edgecombe-Martin County EMC Nash, Edgecombe, Martin, Pitt, Beaufort, Bertie, Halifax, Wilson
Matthew Byrum Albemarle EMC Chowan, Perquimans, Pasquotank, Camden, Currituck
Danny Lee Randolph EMC Randolph, Alamance, Chatham, Montgomery, Moore
Cory Lawrence Wake EMC Granville, Vance, Durham, Wake, Johnston, Nash, Franklin
Timmy Williams South River EMC Harnett, Cumberland, Sampson, Bladen, Johnston
Jonathan Vernesoni Cape Hatteras EC Dare
David Raynor Jones-Onslow EMC Lenoir, Jones, Onslow, Duplin, Pender, Craven
Kenny Simmons Pee Dee EMC Anson, Richmond, Montgomery, Scotland, Moore, Stanly, Union
Leonard Person Tri-County EMC Wayne, Duplin, Lenoir, Johnston, Jones, Sampson, Wilson
Jeff Furr Union Power Mecklenburg, Union, Cabarrus, Rowan, Stanly
Mike Jones Lumbee River EMC Hoke, Cumberland, Robeson, Scotland
Charles Bryant Roanoke EC Hertford, Bertie, Gates, Northampton, Halifax, Chowan, Perquimans
Scott Murray Rutherford EMC Rutherford, McDowell, Polk, Cleveland, Burke, Caldwell, Catawba, Lincoln, Gaston, Mitchell
Justin Collins Surry-Yadkin EMC Wilkes, Surry, Yadkin, Stokes, Forsyth
James Price Brunswick EMC Columbus, Brunswick Bladen, Robeson
Brad Cox Tideland EMC Beaufort, Craven, Dare, Hyde, Pamlico, Washington
Ken Thomas Central EMC Chatham, Harnett, Lee, Moore, Randolph
Jonathan Long Carteret-Craven EC Carteret, Craven, Jones, Onslow
Ben Hurley Blue Ridge EMC Ashe, Alleghany, Wilkes, Watauga, Caldwell, Alexander, Avery
Jason Worley French Broad EMC Madison, Buncombe, Yancey, Mitchell
Steve Height Halifax EMC Warren, Halifax, Martin, Nash
Brent Talley Piedmont EMC Alamance, Caswell, Durham, Granville, Orange, Person
Lee Lackey EnergyUnited Alexander, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Catawba, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Gaston, Guilford, Iredell, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, Stokes, Yadkin, Wilkes
Brian Noland Haywood EMC Haywood, Buncombe, Transylvania, Jackson, Madison, Macon