North Carolina’s Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Award 55 Students Scholarships to State’s Most Renowned Basketball Camps

Raleigh, N.C. —Fifty-five students who earned Touchstone Energy Sports Camps scholarships to attend the Kay Yow Basketball Camp for young women and the Roy Williams Carolina Basketball Camp for young men will take to the courts beginning this weekend.

Winners were selected based on their scholastic and extracurricular activities and an essay that accompanied the application. The Kay Yow Basketball Camp will be held June 24-28 at N.C. State University and the Roy Williams Carolina Basketball Camp will be held June 23-27 at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Hundreds of middle school students from across the state applied for the scholarships.

“This is the fourth year that North Carolina’s Touchstone Energy cooperatives have sent exceptional young women to the Kay Yow Camp, and it is our second opportunity to send deserving young men to the Roy Williams Camp,” said Jane Pritchard, director of corporate communications for North Carolina’s Touchstone Energy cooperatives. Pritchard continued, “This is something we look forward to every year, and it’s an honor to see these middle school students participate in a camp based on their scholastic achievements and extracurricular activities.”

Conducting the Kay Yow Basketball Camp is Naismith Memorial Hall of Fame inductee Coach Kay Yow and members of her Wolfpack women’s basketball team. Roy Williams, coach of the 2005 National Champion Tar Heels, and members of his current team will teach the Roy Williams Basketball Camp. Both camps will work closely with each camper to foster the development of fundamental skills that will help the young athletes perform and excel both on and off the court.

Teaming with Coach Yow and North Carolina State University and Coach Williams and the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill to provide a unique educational and athletic opportunity for our state’s youth keeps with the Touchstone Energy core values of accountability, integrity, innovation and commitment to community.

North Carolina’s Touchstone Energy Cooperatives – are part a national alliance of local, consumer-owned electric cooperatives, which provide high standards of service to customers large and small. More than 600 Touchstone Energy cooperatives in 45 states deliver energy and services to more than 22 million customers every day. Touchstone Energy cooperatives are local, active members of their communities dedicated to serving commercial, industrial, agricultural and residential customers with integrity, accountability, innovation and commitment to community.

List of Scholarship Winners:

Name of Scholarship Winner Hometown Sponsoring Electric Cooperative
Kay Yow Camp Winners
Tamara Leary Edenton Albemarle EMC
Megan Lyons Sparta Blue Ridge EMC
Haven Jones Nakina Brunswick EMC
Molly Clever Buxton Cape Hatteras EC
Stacey Wainwright Morehead City Carteret-Craven EC
Tyesha McLean Vass Central EMC
Taylor Lynn Moore Williamston EMCEMC
Brianna Clegg Reidsville EnergyUnited
Summer Leverette Turkey Four County EMC
Renee Reid Roanoke Rapids Halifax EMC
Lindsay Corbin Sylva Haywood EMC
Desiree Baxter Jacksonville Jones-Onslow EMC
Colleen Chavis Red Springs Lumbee River EMC
Brittany Hudson Rockingham Pee Dee
Brooke A. Wright Hillsborough Piedmont EMC
Sable Scott Carthage Randolph EMC
Jessica Staley Asheboro Randolph EMC
Chelsea Beaver Lincolnton Rutherford EMC
Lauren Mulier Stedman South River EMC
Krystal Smith Dunn South River EMC
Alexsandria Smith Erwin South River EMC
Hannah E. Craft Boonville Surry-Yadkin EMC
Megan Bell Belhaven Tideland EMC
Kristen Davenport Kinston Tri-County EMC
Sydney Lee Rowell Marshville Union Power
Chelsea D. Townsend Durham Wake EMC
Jade Murphy Fayetteville NCEMC

Roy Williams Camp Winners

Kenji Goodwin Edenton Albemarle
Collin Poarch Lenoir Blue Ridge
Keegan Kelly Winnabow Brunswick
Brad Dunnagan Buxton Cape Hatteras
Ashley Nathaniel Williams Morehead City Carteret-Craven
Taylor G. Bradian Sanford Central
Tanner Crisp Rocky Mount Edgecombe-Martin
Damarick Scarver Reidsville EnergyUnited
Harry “Arnell” Lewis Jr. Rocky Point Four County
Michael Leonard Warrenton Halifax
Maxton Richardson Hollister Halifax
Alec Leslie Waynesville Haywood
Brandon Monk Jacksonville Jones-Onslow
Dustin Packer Lumberton Lumbee River
Rodney Little Lilesville Pee Dee
Nathaniel J. Peterkin Norman Pee Dee
DeShawn Skipwith Bullock Piedmont
John Hodges Liberty Randolph
Allen W. Speller II Windsor Roanoke
Jalen E. Cooley Ahoskie Roanoke
Brandon Phillips Gastonia Rutherford
Bo Hartman Morganton Rutherford
Austin Wayne Barker Lowgap Surry-Yadkin
Charlie Moore Jr. Plymouth Tideland
Joseph J. Parker Seven Springs Tri-County
Daniel Mickey Waxhaw Union Power
Christian Willis Wake Forest Wake
Josh Blocker Arden NCEMC