North Carolina Electric Membership Corporation Offers Basketball Camp Scholarships to Local Youth

Raleigh, N.C. — North Carolina Electric Membership Corporation will send one middle-school aged boy and one middle-school aged girl to basketball camp this summer on full scholarships.  This year, applications for scholarships offered to the Touchstone Energy Roy Williams Basketball Camp at UNC-Chapel Hill for male students and to the Kellie Harper Basketball Camp at N.C. State University for female students, must be submitted or postmarked by March 31.

“This is a wonderful opportunity for NCEMC to send deserving students to experience life on a college campus and receive instruction from some of the ACC’s finest basketball players and coaching staffs,” said Morgan Lashley, communications specialist, North Carolina Association of Electric Cooperatives. “Both camps will work closely with each camper to develop skills that will benefit the young athletes on and off the court.”

Applicants are encouraged to apply as soon as possible and will be judged based on their academic achievements, extracurricular activities, an essay that must accompany the application and a short-answer extra credit question.  Winners will be announced by May 1.

Winners of the Kellie Harper Basketball Camp Scholarship will attend the overnight camp in Raleigh, June 20-23, and winners of the Roy Williams Basketball Camp Scholarship will attend the overnight camp in Chapel Hill, June 19-23. Campers must have permission from a parent or guardian to attend the camp and must provide their own transportation to and from the camp.

Rising sixth through eighth grade students interested in the scholarship can contact Morgan Lashley at (919) 875-3214 or by e-mail at  Students may receive more information or download an application at

Awarding Touchstone Energy Sports Camps scholarships is just one example of NCEMC’s commitment to local communities.

North Carolina’s Touchstone Energy cooperatives serve more than 2.5 million people in 93 of the state’s 100 counties.