North Carolina Association of Electric Cooperatives elects officials to board of directors

Raleigh, N.C. —Three electric cooperative officials were recently elected to serve as officers of the North Carolina Association of Electric Cooperatives (NCAEC) board of directors. Tony E. Herrin, Executive Vice President and General Manager of Union Power Cooperative, was elected as president; Allen W. Speller, Chairman of the Roanoke Electric Cooperative board of directors was elected as vice president; and Jeffrey B. Joines, Vice President of the Blue Ridge EMC board of directors was elected as secretary-treasurer.

Herrin, Speller and Joines were elected to their terms during the association’s annual meeting in Raleigh.  The elections took place during the business session of the meeting on April 18.

Union Power Cooperative, Roanoke EC and Blue Ridge EMC are three of 26 member-owned electric cooperatives that provide reliable, safe and affordable electric service to homes, farms and businesses in North Carolina.

NCAEC is a statewide association that has worked since 1943 to promote training, safety, education and legislative advocacy on behalf of electric cooperative members and the public. NCAEC programs serve the needs of their 26 member cooperatives, which are member owned, not-for-profit and overseen by a board of directors elected by the membership.

North Carolina’s electric cooperatives serve 2.5 million people in 93 of the state’s 100 counties.

tony allen joines
Tony Herrin Allen Speller Jeffrey Joines