Four County EMC Opens New District Office in Elizabethtown

Four County EMC, an electric cooperative headquartered in Burgaw, recently held a ribbon-cutting ceremony for its new district office in Elizabethtown. The new office replaces the 58-year-old office in downtown Elizabethtown that the cooperative had outgrown. Earlier this year, the co-op also opened a new district office in Rose Hill.

Four County EMC Board of Directors and CEO Mitchell Keel at ribbon-cutting ceremony for the new Elizabethtown district office.

“The goal was to meet the needs of Four County and its members for a long time just as the previous Elizabethtown facility did,” said Four County CEO Mitchell Keel. “We now have almost 18,000 square feet of covered space on 15 acres of land. This facility will greatly benefit employees and members and allow us to provide better service day-to-day, but it’s really going to shine during storm restoration efforts.”

Construction of the new facility began in October 2019 with Cooperative Building Solutions (CBS), but planning began several years ago.

“The previous location served the cooperative well for many years and we’re excited for what the future holds, both for the community and Four County,” explained Four County EMC Board President Franklin Williams. “And we thank the elected officials of Elizabethtown and Bladen County for the working relationship we’ve had over the years, and appreciate their support during this process.”